You are missing our premiere tool bar navigation system! Register and use it for FREE!

NukeCops  
•  Home •  Downloads •  Gallery •  Your Account •  Forums • 
Readme First
- Readme First! -

Read and follow the rules, otherwise your posts will be closed
Modules
· Home
· FAQ
· Buy a Theme
· Advertising
· AvantGo
· Bookmarks
· Columbia
· Community
· Donations
· Downloads
· Feedback
· Forums
· PHP-Nuke HOWTO
· Private Messages
· Search
· Statistics
· Stories Archive
· Submit News
· Surveys
· Theme Gallery
· Top
· Topics
· Your Account
Who's Online
There are currently, 55 guest(s) and 1 member(s) that are online.

You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here
Nuke Cops :: View topic - IP address constantly crawling around my nuke site [ ]
 Forum FAQ  •  Search  •   •  Memberlist  •  Usergroups   •  Register  •  Profile •    •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in

 
Post new topic  Reply to topicprinter-friendly view
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
cme4pt
Nuke Soldier
Nuke Soldier


Joined: Jan 18, 2003
Posts: 21

Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2003 6:19 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

For the past at least 24 hours there has been one IP address constantly on my site. the IP is 64.140.49.XX

This seems a little strange. I'm curious if anyone can explain it.
Thanks,
cme4pt
Find all posts by cme4ptView user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
ArtificialIntel



Joined: Jan 31, 2004
Posts: -88


PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2003 6:28 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

xx is not part of a valid IP addy.

Maybe somebody is genuinely insterested Wink U could block them in a .htaccess file if u want to

ArtificialIntel
Find all posts by ArtificialIntelView user's profileSend private message
sixonetonoffun
Major
Major


Joined: Jan 13, 2003
Posts: 892


PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2003 8:15 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Check the server logs if you have access see what the user agent claims to be. See what pages are being servered. Could be a bot thats indexing your site. turnitin bot was stuck on my site one whole day then kept coming back so I blacklisted it after a little digging revealed that it has a history of bad behaviour with dynamic sites particularly the perl version of hamweather where its been known to run and index every zip code in the database. Now that pissed a few people off!

There are some good lookup sites/tools around like samspade.org

_________________
www.netflake.com
www.glowoptics.com
Find all posts by sixonetonoffunView user's profileSend private message
Zhen-Xjell
Nuke Cops Founder
Nuke Cops Founder


Joined: Nov 14, 2002
Posts: 5939


PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2003 9:08 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

ArtificialIntel wrote:
xx is not part of a valid IP addy.
I suspect that he X'd out the 4th octet to protect that persons identity. Question

_________________
Paul Laudanski, Microsoft MVP Windows-Security
CastleCops: [de] [en] [wiki]
Find all posts by Zhen-XjellView user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
ArtificialIntel



Joined: Jan 31, 2004
Posts: -88


PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2003 8:14 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I wouldn't if it were me. If I suspected somebody as a possible hacker, I'd block them and post their IP and Hostname in full to advertise who they were for other ppl to beware of.

ArtificialIntel
Find all posts by ArtificialIntelView user's profileSend private message
cme4pt
Nuke Soldier
Nuke Soldier


Joined: Jan 18, 2003
Posts: 21

Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2003 5:37 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

It was a spider crawling my site. Hung around the site indexing everything in site for two days. It was a spider for turnitin.com, an antiplagiarism web service.

Thanks for your input!!!
Find all posts by cme4ptView user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
Zhen-Xjell
Nuke Cops Founder
Nuke Cops Founder


Joined: Nov 14, 2002
Posts: 5939


PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2003 8:07 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Took a lot of bandwidth did it? Hmm, send them a bill. Wink

_________________
Paul Laudanski, Microsoft MVP Windows-Security
CastleCops: [de] [en] [wiki]
Find all posts by Zhen-XjellView user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topic  Reply to topicprinter-friendly view
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

Ported by Nuke Cops © 2003 www.nukecops.com
:: FI Theme :: PHP-Nuke theme by coldblooded (www.nukemods.com) ::
Powered by · TOGETHER TEAM srl ITALY http://www.togetherteam.it · DONDELEO E-COMMERCE http://www.DonDeLeo.com
Web site engine's code is Copyright © 2002 by PHP-Nuke. All Rights Reserved. PHP-Nuke is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
Page Generation: 0.188 Seconds - 354 pages served in past 5 minutes. Nuke Cops Founded by Paul Laudanski (Zhen-Xjell)
:: FI Theme :: PHP-Nuke theme by coldblooded (www.nukemods.com) ::