You are missing our premiere tool bar navigation system! Register and use it for FREE!

NukeCops  
•  Home •  Downloads •  Gallery •  Your Account •  Forums • 
Readme First
- Readme First! -

Read and follow the rules, otherwise your posts will be closed
Modules
· Home
· FAQ
· Buy a Theme
· Advertising
· AvantGo
· Bookmarks
· Columbia
· Community
· Donations
· Downloads
· Feedback
· Forums
· PHP-Nuke HOWTO
· Private Messages
· Search
· Statistics
· Stories Archive
· Submit News
· Surveys
· Theme Gallery
· Top
· Topics
· Your Account
Who's Online
There are currently, 60 guest(s) and 2 member(s) that are online.

You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here
Nuke Cops :: View topic - Strange visitor [ ]
 Forum FAQ  •  Search  •   •  Memberlist  •  Usergroups   •  Register  •  Profile •    •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in

 
Post new topic  Reply to topicprinter-friendly view
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
ladysilver
Lieutenant
Lieutenant


Joined: Apr 07, 2003
Posts: 278

Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 7:06 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I got a reply from MS regarding this:

Quote:
To whom this may concern:
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. We
are committed to ensuring that MSNBot behaves appropriately. MSNBot has been designed to be polite and obey the Robots.txt exclusion protocol so this is quite possibly a bug on our part. If you would be willing to
share with us your robots.txt file as well as your log file that would
be help us identify the issue and correct it.

Thank you very much and we apologize for the inconvenience.

Eytan Seidman
MSN Search


MikeM, here's what I have in robots.txt and .htaccess. htaccess seemed to work for a couple of days, then it was back again. The php ban worked all of one day. robot.txt doesn't seem work at all with this bot, although according to MSN if you disallow MSNBOT that will stop it indexing.

Quote:
User-agent: MSNBOT
Disallow: /

User-agent: *

Disallow: admin.php
Disallow: /admin/
Disallow: /images/
Disallow: /includes/
Disallow: /themes/
Disallow: /blocks/
Disallow: /modules/
Disallow: /language/


The htaccess is barebones. I didn't use Options or RewriteEngine because until now I haven't had a problem with a bot. I don't want to block legitimate visitors from MSN, so I've blocked the specific URL. This is the only URL the bot uses on my site.

Quote:
<Limit GET POST>
order deny,allow
deny from all
deny from 131.107.163.59
allow from all
</Limit>
<Limit PUT DELETE>
order deny,allow
deny from all
deny from 131.107.163.59
</Limit>
AuthName www.elementalmagick.us
AuthUserFile /my virtual path/my password file
AuthGroupFile /my virtual path/my service group file


The last 2 lines above were changed for public posting and are not the way they are written in htaccess.

The php work around is posted earlier. I tried an experiment with the workaround, adding it to files where I found the bot sitting and terminating the bot's session to force it to reaccess the files and (hopefully) find it cannot. Did not work. This thing is worse than a roach. Confused

Am I not doing something right or is this bot buggy?
Find all posts by ladysilverView user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's websiteICQ Number
MikeMiles
Lieutenant
Lieutenant


Joined: May 29, 2003
Posts: 231


PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 3:07 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I'm glad they wrote back. I hope you send Microsoft the info they want so they can fix the bot. I don't know why your .htaccess and php ban would work and then suddenly not unless the bot changed IPs on you. Others have said this bot will do that when you try to ban it.

Your robots.txt looks okay to me. I don't use the limit rule but how about trying it this way:

<Limit GET POST>
order allow,deny
allow from all
deny from 131.107.163.59
</Limit>
<Limit PUT DELETE>
order deny,allow
deny from all
</Limit>

If you see this bot jumping to another IP in the same range, you can use partial IPs like this: 131.107. or 131.107.163. (with a trailing dot). Just realize you'll be cutting off a lot of other people too. That's why banning a good bot that's acting really weird should be done temporily until it goes away or is fixed. Most of the bad bots you can permanently ban and not effect others. You're lucky if this is your only roach. My roaches are mostly spybots. Unfortunately, I had to add a few more of them to my ban this last week.
Find all posts by MikeMilesView user's profileSend private message
ulissesnelson
Lieutenant
Lieutenant


Joined: Apr 09, 2003
Posts: 188


PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2003 1:59 am Reply with quoteBack to top

crap i posted another topic first and then i saw this,seems that if they attemp to fix the bot they dont fixed. i just installed the ip_tracking after a hard change in my nuke site ,and i get nuts when i checked the ip_traking to see if was working ok,that f*** ip appeard and in 1 minute ,he hited 100 times my statistics module.

Code:

User (A\D) IP Address (A\D) Host Name (A\D) Last Viewed (A\D) Hits (A\D)
admin ***.**.**.** pr5-ts.telepac.pt 2003-06-29 11:00:44           17
           80.142.155.25 p508E9B19.dip.t-dialin.net 2003-06-29 10:51:17 4
          131.107.163.49 131.107.163.49 2003-06-29 10:41:21        100 <--there he is

Find all posts by ulissesnelsonView user's profileSend private message
ladysilver
Lieutenant
Lieutenant


Joined: Apr 07, 2003
Posts: 278

Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2003 6:57 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Here's another odd one: I was checking my referrers when I came across a couple of entries for XXXX:+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The nuke referral module and the database couldn't provide any more info so I pulled the server log files and got this:

207.68.87.156 - - [26/Jul/2003:19:01:54 -0500] "GET / HTTP/1.1" 200 91212 "XXXX:+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; Q312461; .NET CLR 1.0.3705; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)"

The whois leads to Verizon. Any ideas what info this ip was trying to get?
Find all posts by ladysilverView user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's websiteICQ Number
Zhen-Xjell
Nuke Cops Founder
Nuke Cops Founder


Joined: Nov 14, 2002
Posts: 5939


PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2003 7:00 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I'm going to bed, its been a long day, I just had to say nice avatar.

_________________
Paul Laudanski, Microsoft MVP Windows-Security
CastleCops: [de] [en] [wiki]
Find all posts by Zhen-XjellView user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
MikeMiles
Lieutenant
Lieutenant


Joined: May 29, 2003
Posts: 231


PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2003 8:34 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

No idea why the X's and +'s. If it's Verizon, it's probably a regular surfer. Which pages do your logs show him accessing (if any).
Find all posts by MikeMilesView user's profileSend private message
ladysilver
Lieutenant
Lieutenant


Joined: Apr 07, 2003
Posts: 278

Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2003 10:49 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Thanks, Zhen-Xjell. Very Happy

MileMiles, it looks like it was a normal index page call. I thought the referring URL was odd and I was wondering if someone did this thinking it would obscure their url in the referrer list and I wouldn't be able to trace them, or if it was something else.

_________________
In a world without fences or walls, there is no need for Gates or Windows
Find all posts by ladysilverView user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's websiteICQ Number
ladysilver
Lieutenant
Lieutenant


Joined: Apr 07, 2003
Posts: 278

Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2003 10:51 am Reply with quoteBack to top

BTW - I heard nothing back from Microsoft after I sent them the log info, but their bot is staying off my site. Cool
Find all posts by ladysilverView user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's websiteICQ Number
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topic  Reply to topicprinter-friendly view
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

Ported by Nuke Cops © 2003 www.nukecops.com
:: FI Theme :: PHP-Nuke theme by coldblooded (www.nukemods.com) ::
Powered by · TOGETHER TEAM srl ITALY http://www.togetherteam.it · DONDELEO E-COMMERCE http://www.DonDeLeo.com
Web site engine's code is Copyright © 2002 by PHP-Nuke. All Rights Reserved. PHP-Nuke is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
Page Generation: 0.261 Seconds - 334 pages served in past 5 minutes. Nuke Cops Founded by Paul Laudanski (Zhen-Xjell)
:: FI Theme :: PHP-Nuke theme by coldblooded (www.nukemods.com) ::