| Author |
Message |
mal
Corporal


Joined: Apr 27, 2004
Posts: 59
|
Posted:
Wed Jun 23, 2004 1:30 am |
  |
I tried to look at a site http://www.realestatesllc.com after it was recommended for a look at a real estate module in another forum on this site.
All I got was a red cross and a screaming siren informing I had been banned by Protector. I had never looked at this site before. The IP address banned are (I think) for my ISP one of the largest in the UK.
There was a maito link on the page which did not work it just made the page flash! |
_________________ Two things get you into touble in this life, one's a signature. |
|
   |
 |
bretonmage
Captain


Joined: Feb 21, 2004
Posts: 421
|
Posted:
Wed Jun 23, 2004 7:12 am |
  |
It isn't protector's fault, why post here? It is the webmaster's decision to block certain IPs. |
_________________
.jpg) |
|
   |
 |
mal
Corporal


Joined: Apr 27, 2004
Posts: 59
|
Posted:
Wed Jun 23, 2004 7:56 am |
  |
Thanks for your reply bretonmage.
I did not mean to imply that Protector was at fault, I think its a great program as are the other security add ons for phpnuke that have been developed, and for one, thank all the people that have made the effort to develop such programs.
The site I tried to visit is not the first I have been refused entry to, despite never having been there before. Prehaps my ISP's IP addresss are the prob? |
_________________ Two things get you into touble in this life, one's a signature. |
|
   |
 |
bretonmage
Captain


Joined: Feb 21, 2004
Posts: 421
|
Posted:
Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:35 pm |
  |
I doubt it, since there are no default blocked IPs when on a first install of Protector.
Unless your ISP is one known for hackers and webmasters have blocked the entire range.
What ISP do you use? I have a pretty good knowledge of UK ISPs, name it and I'll know.  |
_________________
.jpg) |
|
   |
 |
mal
Corporal


Joined: Apr 27, 2004
Posts: 59
|
Posted:
Thu Jun 24, 2004 12:02 am |
  |
My ISP is Plus Net, their connections go through BT.
I am trying to develop a site for a charity concerned with the needs of the visually impaired. The idea is to gather relevant news and info on a CMS type website for the use of friends, carers etc and use XML to feed another website that can be used by visually impaired people. PhpNuke seems ideal, having great news gathering features. XML feeds built in and zero upfront costs.
Thanks for your time. |
_________________ Two things get you into touble in this life, one's a signature. |
|
   |
 |
jabbawest
Corporal


Joined: May 18, 2004
Posts: 51
Location: Texas
|
Posted:
Thu Jun 24, 2004 12:16 pm |
  |
Do you have a dynamic or static IP?
The sites your referring to could be blocking you because you are using an IP that was previously used by some one that previously abuse it.
If you're on a dynamic IP, try unplugging your modem overnight and see if your reassigned a new one. |
_________________
 |
|
       |
 |
Xeon
Sergeant


Joined: Aug 28, 2003
Posts: 144
Location: USA
|
Posted:
Thu Jun 24, 2004 3:30 pm |
  |
I personaly know the owner of that site and if you can give me your IP address I'll find out if you just happen to be in the IP range that is blocked all the time, or if you were blocked for some unecessary reason.
Just PM with your information and I'll find out for you. I'll also ask the owner to remove that particular IP if it's a static IP you always have and see what he says.
I'm sure it was just from a IP range block that he's permanently banned and I wouldn't worry about it to much. His site is a US only site and I know he's blocked a lot of ranges that are outside of the US due to Spammers and the like.
Anyway, just let me know what you'd like to do and I'm sure he'll help out.
Take care, |
_________________ Xeon
http://www.credit-repair-combat.com/ |
|
    |
 |
mal
Corporal


Joined: Apr 27, 2004
Posts: 59
|
Posted:
Fri Jun 25, 2004 1:10 am |
  |
Thanks for your replies.
I do have a static IP. I have had this connection for nearly 2 years. Its only every used for browsing.
As you say Xeon the site in question is intended for local users only so I cant blame the owner for banning whole blocks of IP address to protect his hard work. I can look at it from someones else's PC.
I have probs with accessibility to sites in other areas, I will start a topic in a more suitable place soon.
Thanks again. |
_________________ Two things get you into touble in this life, one's a signature. |
|
   |
 |
VinDSL
Site Admin


Joined: Jul 08, 2003
Posts: 1193
Location: Arizona (USA) Site Admin: Lenon.com Admin: Disipal Designs
|
Posted:
Fri Jun 25, 2004 1:29 am |
  |
| Xeon wrote: |
| I'm sure it was just from a IP range block that he's permanently banned... |
Yep, that's what it is. I just tried going there through a proxy server:
http://www.megaproxy.com/
Blocked, not banned, but it's the same difference I guess...  |
_________________ .:: "The further in you go, the bigger it gets!" ::.
.:: VinDSL's Lenon.com | The Disipal Site ::. |
|
     |
 |
memaved
Nuke Soldier


Joined: Oct 23, 2003
Posts: 24
|
Posted:
Fri Jun 25, 2004 2:59 am |
  |
What good is it to ban Ip's even ranges - even with a us only site if someone can still get in through a proxy server? Ive banned all fo Brazil and all of 217 from all the crap that come in through theRipe network - what good if they go in through something like teh Megaproxy that shows as a LEVEL 3, CO , USA IP? |
|
|
   |
 |
Xeon
Sergeant


Joined: Aug 28, 2003
Posts: 144
Location: USA
|
Posted:
Fri Jun 25, 2004 8:59 am |
  |
I'm not sure I'm following you memaved. You can set the protector to ban all proxies. It's really not that big a deal and pretoctor handles it for you nicely.
What version of protector are you using?
The latest versions allow you to set this by just clicking a button.
Hope this helps.
See ya, |
_________________ Xeon
http://www.credit-repair-combat.com/ |
|
    |
 |
Xeon
Sergeant


Joined: Aug 28, 2003
Posts: 144
Location: USA
|
Posted:
Fri Jun 25, 2004 9:00 am |
  |
| mal wrote: |
Thanks for your replies.
I do have a static IP. I have had this connection for nearly 2 years. Its only every used for browsing.
As you say Xeon the site in question is intended for local users only so I cant blame the owner for banning whole blocks of IP address to protect his hard work. I can look at it from someones else's PC.
I have probs with accessibility to sites in other areas, I will start a topic in a more suitable place soon.
Thanks again. |
OK well it's up to you man. I can give him your IP and I'm sure he'll remove it from the set of banned IP's.
Just PM your IP and I'll go talk to him. In any case, it's up to you.
Take care, |
_________________ Xeon
http://www.credit-repair-combat.com/ |
|
    |
 |
bronteland
Elite Nuker


Joined: Feb 29, 2004
Posts: 278
|
Posted:
Fri Jun 25, 2004 10:38 am |
  |
just to add my 2 cents.. im also blocked.. no biggie 4 me personally because i ws purely seeing if i was allowed in or not.
incedentaly i connect on a blueyonder dial-up. (one of the largest providers in the north of england)
xeon.. you may want to point out to the site owner that he could potentially be turning away many UK customers.
but .. it's not my site, so not my rules etc.. but he may not be aware. |
|
|
   |
 |
mal
Corporal


Joined: Apr 27, 2004
Posts: 59
|
Posted:
Fri Jun 25, 2004 11:18 am |
  |
I agree with you bronteland.
In the UK almost all ADSL connections, who ever you pay, go through British Telecom, must be 70% (don't quote me I'm not sure of exact figures) most of the rest goes through 2 cable companies NTL and Blueyonder. These 3 companies run millions of connections between them. Thats a lot of people!
Is the World Wide Web destined to be The Local Web acessed by the approved and acceptable only?
Question: Can I change this topic name to; Blocked by Protector? |
_________________ Two things get you into touble in this life, one's a signature. |
|
   |
 |
bretonmage
Captain


Joined: Feb 21, 2004
Posts: 421
|
Posted:
Fri Jun 25, 2004 11:26 am |
  |
Yep, I'm in the UK (freedom2surf) and I'm blocked aswell. |
_________________
.jpg) |
|
   |
 |
|
|